headerdesktop  engwktr12aug

MAI SUNT 00:00:00:00

MAI SUNT

X

headermobile engwktr12aug

MAI SUNT 00:00:00:00

MAI SUNT

X

Promotii popup img

-20%-35% la TOATE Cartile in limba Engleza

TRANSPORT GRATUIT

la comenzile de peste 50 lei!

Comanda acum!
Close

A Home for the Lost: An absolutely heartbreaking historical novel

A Home for the Lost: An absolutely heartbreaking historical novel - Sharon Maas

A Home for the Lost: An absolutely heartbreaking historical novel


The woman looked at me, anguish brimming in her eyes. I picked up the note she'd left and read the scrawl: HELP!!! Then: Mom. Followed by a number.

A gripping and heartbreaking read, based on the true story of the Jonestown cult, one of the darkest chapters in American history.

When journalist Zoe Quint loses her husband and child in a tragic accident, she returns home to Guyana to heal. But when she hears cries and music floating through the trees, her curiosity compels her to learn more about the Americans who have set up camp in a run-down village nearby. Their leader, Jim Jones, dark eyed and charismatic, claims to be a peaceful man who has promised his followers paradise.

But everything changes when Zoe meets one of his followers, a young woman called Lucy, in a ramshackle grocery store. Lucy grabs Zoe's arm, raw terror in her eyes, and passes her a note with a phone number, begging her to call her mother in America.

Zoe is determined to help Lucy, but locals warn her to stay away from the camp, and as sirens and gunshots echo through the jungle at nightfall, she knows they are right. But she can't shake the frightened woman's face from her mind, and when she discovers that there are young children kept in the camp, she has to act fast.

Zoe's only route to the lost people is to get close to their leader, Jim Jones. But if she is accepted, will she be able to persuade the frightened followers to risk their lives and embark on a perilous escape under the cover of darkness? And when Jim Jones hears of her plans, could she pay the highest price of all?

A powerful and unputdownable novel inspired by the true story of Jonestown, about a woman's brave attempt to save people who were promised paradise but found only lies. Fans of Where the Crawdads Sing, Before We Were Yours and The Girls will be captivated by A Home for the Lost.

What everyone is saying about A Home for the Lost:

'Woah! A Home for the Lost, is an absolute monster of a story. Very engaging from beginning right up until the ending. With powerful characters who suck you into their world. Phenomenal writing that makes held me captivated. I couldn't put it down. Sharon is a fabulous writer and this book hooked me.' Rubie Reads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'A powerful and unputdownable novel inspired by the true story of Jonestown. Brilliant... gripping and addictive, it will pull you in from the first page... A must-read. Kept me up well past my bedtime, I could not put it down.' Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'What an eye opening, truly chilling book... I simply could not put this one down. ' Netgalley reviewer

'What an amazing and engrossing story!... Based on the infamous Jonestown massacre, this novel is riveting! Twists, turns, and true and complex characters will keep you engrossed as you root for both women to make it out of Jonestown alive. If you love books about cults, want to know more about Jonestown, or just enjoy a true thriller, A Home For the Lost is for you!' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Citeste mai mult

-20%

transport gratuit

59.73Lei

74.66 Lei

Sau 5973 de puncte

!

Fiecare comanda noua reprezinta o investitie pentru viitoarele tale comenzi. Orice comanda plasata de pe un cont de utilizator primeste in schimb un numar de puncte de fidelitate, In conformitate cu regulile de conversiune stabilite. Punctele acumulate sunt incarcate automat in contul tau si pot fi folosite ulterior, pentru plata urmatoarelor comenzi.

Livrare in 2-4 saptamani

Stiai ca in luna august ai Ridicare Personala Gratuita, indiferent de optiunea selectata?
Ridicare Personala GRATUITA!

easybox / Ship&Go TOATA luna August!

Descrierea produsului


The woman looked at me, anguish brimming in her eyes. I picked up the note she'd left and read the scrawl: HELP!!! Then: Mom. Followed by a number.

A gripping and heartbreaking read, based on the true story of the Jonestown cult, one of the darkest chapters in American history.

When journalist Zoe Quint loses her husband and child in a tragic accident, she returns home to Guyana to heal. But when she hears cries and music floating through the trees, her curiosity compels her to learn more about the Americans who have set up camp in a run-down village nearby. Their leader, Jim Jones, dark eyed and charismatic, claims to be a peaceful man who has promised his followers paradise.

But everything changes when Zoe meets one of his followers, a young woman called Lucy, in a ramshackle grocery store. Lucy grabs Zoe's arm, raw terror in her eyes, and passes her a note with a phone number, begging her to call her mother in America.

Zoe is determined to help Lucy, but locals warn her to stay away from the camp, and as sirens and gunshots echo through the jungle at nightfall, she knows they are right. But she can't shake the frightened woman's face from her mind, and when she discovers that there are young children kept in the camp, she has to act fast.

Zoe's only route to the lost people is to get close to their leader, Jim Jones. But if she is accepted, will she be able to persuade the frightened followers to risk their lives and embark on a perilous escape under the cover of darkness? And when Jim Jones hears of her plans, could she pay the highest price of all?

A powerful and unputdownable novel inspired by the true story of Jonestown, about a woman's brave attempt to save people who were promised paradise but found only lies. Fans of Where the Crawdads Sing, Before We Were Yours and The Girls will be captivated by A Home for the Lost.

What everyone is saying about A Home for the Lost:

'Woah! A Home for the Lost, is an absolute monster of a story. Very engaging from beginning right up until the ending. With powerful characters who suck you into their world. Phenomenal writing that makes held me captivated. I couldn't put it down. Sharon is a fabulous writer and this book hooked me.' Rubie Reads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'A powerful and unputdownable novel inspired by the true story of Jonestown. Brilliant... gripping and addictive, it will pull you in from the first page... A must-read. Kept me up well past my bedtime, I could not put it down.' Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'What an eye opening, truly chilling book... I simply could not put this one down. ' Netgalley reviewer

'What an amazing and engrossing story!... Based on the infamous Jonestown massacre, this novel is riveting! Twists, turns, and true and complex characters will keep you engrossed as you root for both women to make it out of Jonestown alive. If you love books about cults, want to know more about Jonestown, or just enjoy a true thriller, A Home For the Lost is for you!' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Citeste mai mult

De pe acelasi raft

De acelasi autor

Parerea ta e inspiratie pentru comunitatea Libris!

Noi suntem despre carti, si la fel este si

Newsletter-ul nostru.

Aboneaza-te la vestile literare si primesti un cupon de -10% pentru viitoarea ta comanda!

*Reducerea aplicata prin cupon nu se cumuleaza, ci se aplica reducerea cea mai mare.

Ma abonez image one
Ma abonez image one