headerdesktop  engwktr12aug

MAI SUNT 00:00:00:00

MAI SUNT

X

headermobile engwktr12aug

MAI SUNT 00:00:00:00

MAI SUNT

X

Promotii popup img

-20%-35% la TOATE Cartile in limba Engleza

TRANSPORT GRATUIT

la comenzile de peste 50 lei!

Comanda acum!
Close

The Captain's Wife: A heartbreaking and absolutely gripping WW2 romance

The Captain's Wife: A heartbreaking and absolutely gripping WW2 romance - Norma Curtis

The Captain's Wife: A heartbreaking and absolutely gripping WW2 romance


'Forget The Notebook! It's all about The Captain's Wife. I read this entire book in two days... will fill you with hope, then will suddenly break your heart into a million pieces... truly an emotional rollercoaster, so tissues at the ready!" Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Britain, sixty-five years ago. Pushing aside drooping hollyhocks, Elin Jenkins tosses back her dark hair and runs up the familiar path to the tiny village of Capel Celyn, past the mossy graveyard with its crumbling stones, towards the farm that's been in her family for generations. Laughing, Al catches her around the waist, squeezing her tight. 'Marry me, ' he whispers. 'I'll use my Navy liberty leave, we'll go ask your parents. I don't want this to end.' Tears prick her eyes as she smiles up at him.

Three days later, Al is on his ship back to Pennsylvania. And in the months that follow, Elin's frantic telegrams to him go unanswered. Then she receives an invitation to his wedding in Philadelphia. Scribbled on the back are three words: No hard feelings.

Present day. Al Locke, retired Navy Captain, smooths his silver hair and finishes up with a spritz of aftershave. With a spring in his step he hasn't had for decades, he sets off up the well-worn track through the valley. As he rounds the last bend, his heart begins to race. He has no doubt he will meet her in the village today. He will at last hear the horrible truth of what happened to Elin after he left, and he'll confess why he couldn't face coming back... until now.

As Al crests the final, familiar hill, a startling brightness draws him in like a vision. Before him, a glittering lake fills the entire valley. The pretty stone village of Capel Celyn, and all trace of Elin, are gone...

A beautiful and heartbreaking story about lost love, forgiveness and family secrets. Fans of Fiona Valpy, Soraya M. Lane and Kathleen McGurl will love this book.

What readers are saying about The Captain's Wife:


'I was so engaged in the story and characters, enjoyed the storyline throughout the book. It kept me reading until the end!! I would highly recommend this book!!' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Heart wrenching.' NetGalley reviewer

'This beautifully unique tale will fill you with hope, then will suddenly break your heart into a million pieces. Without giving too much away, it is truly an emotional rollercoaster, so tissues at the ready! Norma Curtis, you have gained a new fan: )' Off the Hook Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Truly heart-wrenching moments.' Goodreads reviewer

'A beautiful and heartbreaking story... I cannot wait to read more by this author. This author has now become a go-to author.' Goodreads reviewer


Citeste mai mult

-20%

44.75Lei

55.94 Lei

Sau 4475 de puncte

!

Fiecare comanda noua reprezinta o investitie pentru viitoarele tale comenzi. Orice comanda plasata de pe un cont de utilizator primeste in schimb un numar de puncte de fidelitate, In conformitate cu regulile de conversiune stabilite. Punctele acumulate sunt incarcate automat in contul tau si pot fi folosite ulterior, pentru plata urmatoarelor comenzi.

Livrare in 2-4 saptamani

Plaseaza rapid comanda

Important icon msg

Completeaza mai jos numarul tau de telefon

Poti comanda acest produs introducand numarul tau de telefon. Vei fi apelat de un operator Libris.ro in cele mai scurt timp pentru prealuarea datelor necesare.

Stiai ca in luna august ai Ridicare Personala Gratuita, indiferent de optiunea selectata?
Ridicare Personala GRATUITA!

easybox / Ship&Go TOATA luna August!

Descrierea produsului


'Forget The Notebook! It's all about The Captain's Wife. I read this entire book in two days... will fill you with hope, then will suddenly break your heart into a million pieces... truly an emotional rollercoaster, so tissues at the ready!" Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Britain, sixty-five years ago. Pushing aside drooping hollyhocks, Elin Jenkins tosses back her dark hair and runs up the familiar path to the tiny village of Capel Celyn, past the mossy graveyard with its crumbling stones, towards the farm that's been in her family for generations. Laughing, Al catches her around the waist, squeezing her tight. 'Marry me, ' he whispers. 'I'll use my Navy liberty leave, we'll go ask your parents. I don't want this to end.' Tears prick her eyes as she smiles up at him.

Three days later, Al is on his ship back to Pennsylvania. And in the months that follow, Elin's frantic telegrams to him go unanswered. Then she receives an invitation to his wedding in Philadelphia. Scribbled on the back are three words: No hard feelings.

Present day. Al Locke, retired Navy Captain, smooths his silver hair and finishes up with a spritz of aftershave. With a spring in his step he hasn't had for decades, he sets off up the well-worn track through the valley. As he rounds the last bend, his heart begins to race. He has no doubt he will meet her in the village today. He will at last hear the horrible truth of what happened to Elin after he left, and he'll confess why he couldn't face coming back... until now.

As Al crests the final, familiar hill, a startling brightness draws him in like a vision. Before him, a glittering lake fills the entire valley. The pretty stone village of Capel Celyn, and all trace of Elin, are gone...

A beautiful and heartbreaking story about lost love, forgiveness and family secrets. Fans of Fiona Valpy, Soraya M. Lane and Kathleen McGurl will love this book.

What readers are saying about The Captain's Wife:


'I was so engaged in the story and characters, enjoyed the storyline throughout the book. It kept me reading until the end!! I would highly recommend this book!!' NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Heart wrenching.' NetGalley reviewer

'This beautifully unique tale will fill you with hope, then will suddenly break your heart into a million pieces. Without giving too much away, it is truly an emotional rollercoaster, so tissues at the ready! Norma Curtis, you have gained a new fan: )' Off the Hook Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Truly heart-wrenching moments.' Goodreads reviewer

'A beautiful and heartbreaking story... I cannot wait to read more by this author. This author has now become a go-to author.' Goodreads reviewer


Citeste mai mult

De pe acelasi raft

Parerea ta e inspiratie pentru comunitatea Libris!

Noi suntem despre carti, si la fel este si

Newsletter-ul nostru.

Aboneaza-te la vestile literare si primesti un cupon de -10% pentru viitoarea ta comanda!

*Reducerea aplicata prin cupon nu se cumuleaza, ci se aplica reducerea cea mai mare.

Ma abonez image one
Ma abonez image one