headerdesktop  art27mai

MAI SUNT 00:00:00:00

MAI SUNT

X

headermobile art27mai

MAI SUNT 00:00:00:00

MAI SUNT

X

Promotii popup img

-25% -30% Weekend ART

Transport Gratuit la ORICE

peste 50 lei!

Comanda acum!
Close

The Shut-Away Sisters: A gripping and utterly heartbreaking historical novel

The Shut-Away Sisters: A gripping and utterly heartbreaking historical novel - Suzanne Goldring

The Shut-Away Sisters: A gripping and utterly heartbreaking historical novel


Two ordinary sisters. A long and brutal war. A heroic sacrifice...


London, 1915. As German bombs rain down on the East End of London and hungry children queue for rations in the blistering cold, fifteen-year-old Florrie is forced to grow up fast. With her father fighting in the muddy trenches, Florrie turns to her older sister Edith for comfort. But the war has changed Edith. She has grown quiet, with dark shadows under her eyes, and has started leaving the house at night in secret. When Florrie follows her sister through the dark and winding streets of London, she is shocked by what she discovers. But she knows she must keep her sister's secret for the sake of their family, even if she herself must pay the ultimate price...


Years later Kate, running from her broken relationship, is sorting through her dead aunt Florrie's house, which she shared with her sister Edith. As she sits on the threadbare carpets, looking at photos of Florrie during the war, she notices the change in her aunt - from carefree young girl with a hopeful smile to a hollow-cheeked young woman, with dark sad eyes.


Determined to put her family's ghosts to rest, Kate must unearth the secret past of her two aunts. Why is there a hidden locked room in the little house they shared? What is the story behind the abandoned wedding dress wrapped in tissue and tied up with a ribbon? And when Kate discovers the tragic secrets that have bound her family together, will she ever be able to move on?


A heartbreaking historical novel of war, tragedy and the sacrifices we make for those we love. Fans of Fiona Valpy, Kristin Hannah and Victoria Hislop will be hooked by The Shut-Away Sisters.


What everyone is saying about The Shut Away Sisters


'Lovely read. thoroughly enjoyable and keeps you guessing ... Would highly recommend' Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'Goldring gives us a picture of two strong women who overcome the obstacles that are put in their path and are better people because of it... a lovely read for those who enjoy stories that weave the past and future together.' My Book Babbles, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'I loved this book!' Fictionvixenreads

Citeste mai mult

-10%

transport gratuit

57.19Lei

63.54 Lei

Sau 5719 de puncte

!

Fiecare comanda noua reprezinta o investitie pentru viitoarele tale comenzi. Orice comanda plasata de pe un cont de utilizator primeste in schimb un numar de puncte de fidelitate, In conformitate cu regulile de conversiune stabilite. Punctele acumulate sunt incarcate automat in contul tau si pot fi folosite ulterior, pentru plata urmatoarelor comenzi.

Livrare in 3-5 saptamani

Descrierea produsului


Two ordinary sisters. A long and brutal war. A heroic sacrifice...


London, 1915. As German bombs rain down on the East End of London and hungry children queue for rations in the blistering cold, fifteen-year-old Florrie is forced to grow up fast. With her father fighting in the muddy trenches, Florrie turns to her older sister Edith for comfort. But the war has changed Edith. She has grown quiet, with dark shadows under her eyes, and has started leaving the house at night in secret. When Florrie follows her sister through the dark and winding streets of London, she is shocked by what she discovers. But she knows she must keep her sister's secret for the sake of their family, even if she herself must pay the ultimate price...


Years later Kate, running from her broken relationship, is sorting through her dead aunt Florrie's house, which she shared with her sister Edith. As she sits on the threadbare carpets, looking at photos of Florrie during the war, she notices the change in her aunt - from carefree young girl with a hopeful smile to a hollow-cheeked young woman, with dark sad eyes.


Determined to put her family's ghosts to rest, Kate must unearth the secret past of her two aunts. Why is there a hidden locked room in the little house they shared? What is the story behind the abandoned wedding dress wrapped in tissue and tied up with a ribbon? And when Kate discovers the tragic secrets that have bound her family together, will she ever be able to move on?


A heartbreaking historical novel of war, tragedy and the sacrifices we make for those we love. Fans of Fiona Valpy, Kristin Hannah and Victoria Hislop will be hooked by The Shut-Away Sisters.


What everyone is saying about The Shut Away Sisters


'Lovely read. thoroughly enjoyable and keeps you guessing ... Would highly recommend' Netgalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'Goldring gives us a picture of two strong women who overcome the obstacles that are put in their path and are better people because of it... a lovely read for those who enjoy stories that weave the past and future together.' My Book Babbles, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'I loved this book!' Fictionvixenreads

Citeste mai mult

Detaliile produsului

De acelasi autor

De pe acelasi raft

Parerea ta e inspiratie pentru comunitatea Libris!

Noi suntem despre carti, si la fel este si

Newsletter-ul nostru.

Aboneaza-te la vestile literare si primesti un cupon de -10% pentru viitoarea ta comanda!

*Reducerea aplicata prin cupon nu se cumuleaza, ci se aplica reducerea cea mai mare.

Ma abonez image one
Ma abonez image one