Countdown header img desk

MAI SUNT 00:00:00:00

MAI SUNT

X

Countdown header img  mob

MAI SUNT 00:00:00:00

MAI SUNT

X

Promotii popup img

2+1 GRATIS

la TOATE Cartile si Jocurile pentru copii

Alegi 3, platesti doar 2!

Comanda acum!
Close

When We Were Brave: A completely gripping and emotional WW2 historical novel

When We Were Brave: A completely gripping and emotional WW2 historical novel - Suzanne Kelman

When We Were Brave: A completely gripping and emotional WW2 historical novel


The face of the woman in the photograph was tilted upwards, as if enjoying the sunshine just for a moment, even as the wreckage of the bombed-out street lay behind her...

1944, Cornwall: Blinded by love, Vivienne Hamilton eloped to Paris with a Nazi prisoner-of-war, never to be seen again. A disgrace to her family, her name would not be mentioned by any of her relatives for over 75 years.

Present day, London: When Sophie discovers a photograph of her great aunt Vivi from World War Two, it throws her into a world of confusion. Because, as she learns about this secret relative, she quickly realises that the photograph doesn't fit with her family's story. It shows Vivi leaving an address associated with a spy network in London - a place she had no reason to be - and it is dated right before she disappeared.

Meanwhile Sophie's own life feels as blasted and bombed as the blitzed city in the photograph she's looking at. Her beautiful daughter - as full of joy and wild energy as Vivi had apparently once been - is gone; and Sophie's heart has been left broken into pieces.

Retreating to the family home in rural Cornwall to seek solace from her pain and the feelings of guilt that she could have done more to protect her daughter, Sophie finds herself becoming obsessed with Vivi's life.

But nothing can prepare Sophie for what she is about to uncover - the story of a woman who risked everything for the person she loved the most; and a secret family history that could be the key to Sophie's own future.

A powerful, haunting and unforgettable read about love, heartbreak and betrayal set in Second World War Britain and France. Perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Under a Scarlet Sky and My Name is Eva.

Readers love Suzanne Kelman:

'If only there were more than 5 stars to give, I would not hesitate... Heartbreaking and inspiring... the pages turn quickly... I know I will think often of this book.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'A fantastic novel... Historical fiction at its best. Characters that you fall in love with, a story you will hate to end.' NetGalley Reviewer

'I loved everything about this book, the story the characters... Such an emotional story.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Captivating and emotional... well researched and beautifully written.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Loved it ... It was hard to put down.' NetGalley Reviewer

'Having read A View Across the Rooftops, I was hooked on this FANTASTIC author. When We Were Brave is another OUTSTANDING piece of fantastic writing... I have nothing but total admiration for this author.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'I finished it in a day... Can't wait to see what the author comes up with next.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'A heartbreaking tale of war, love, loss, betrayal and courage... Wonderful.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'I truly enjoyed every aspect of this book... This book will stay with me.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Citeste mai mult

-10%

48.83Lei

54.26 Lei

Sau 4883 de puncte

!

Fiecare comanda noua reprezinta o investitie pentru viitoarele tale comenzi. Orice comanda plasata de pe un cont de utilizator primeste in schimb un numar de puncte de fidelitate, In conformitate cu regulile de conversiune stabilite. Punctele acumulate sunt incarcate automat in contul tau si pot fi folosite ulterior, pentru plata urmatoarelor comenzi.

Livrare in 3-5 saptamani

Plaseaza rapid comanda

Important icon msg

Completeaza mai jos numarul tau de telefon

Poti comanda acest produs introducand numarul tau de telefon. Vei fi apelat de un operator Libris.ro in cele mai scurt timp pentru prealuarea datelor necesare.

Descrierea produsului


The face of the woman in the photograph was tilted upwards, as if enjoying the sunshine just for a moment, even as the wreckage of the bombed-out street lay behind her...

1944, Cornwall: Blinded by love, Vivienne Hamilton eloped to Paris with a Nazi prisoner-of-war, never to be seen again. A disgrace to her family, her name would not be mentioned by any of her relatives for over 75 years.

Present day, London: When Sophie discovers a photograph of her great aunt Vivi from World War Two, it throws her into a world of confusion. Because, as she learns about this secret relative, she quickly realises that the photograph doesn't fit with her family's story. It shows Vivi leaving an address associated with a spy network in London - a place she had no reason to be - and it is dated right before she disappeared.

Meanwhile Sophie's own life feels as blasted and bombed as the blitzed city in the photograph she's looking at. Her beautiful daughter - as full of joy and wild energy as Vivi had apparently once been - is gone; and Sophie's heart has been left broken into pieces.

Retreating to the family home in rural Cornwall to seek solace from her pain and the feelings of guilt that she could have done more to protect her daughter, Sophie finds herself becoming obsessed with Vivi's life.

But nothing can prepare Sophie for what she is about to uncover - the story of a woman who risked everything for the person she loved the most; and a secret family history that could be the key to Sophie's own future.

A powerful, haunting and unforgettable read about love, heartbreak and betrayal set in Second World War Britain and France. Perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Under a Scarlet Sky and My Name is Eva.

Readers love Suzanne Kelman:

'If only there were more than 5 stars to give, I would not hesitate... Heartbreaking and inspiring... the pages turn quickly... I know I will think often of this book.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'A fantastic novel... Historical fiction at its best. Characters that you fall in love with, a story you will hate to end.' NetGalley Reviewer

'I loved everything about this book, the story the characters... Such an emotional story.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Captivating and emotional... well researched and beautifully written.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'Loved it ... It was hard to put down.' NetGalley Reviewer

'Having read A View Across the Rooftops, I was hooked on this FANTASTIC author. When We Were Brave is another OUTSTANDING piece of fantastic writing... I have nothing but total admiration for this author.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'I finished it in a day... Can't wait to see what the author comes up with next.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'A heartbreaking tale of war, love, loss, betrayal and courage... Wonderful.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

'I truly enjoyed every aspect of this book... This book will stay with me.' Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Citeste mai mult

De acelasi autor

De pe acelasi raft

Parerea ta e inspiratie pentru comunitatea Libris!

Noi suntem despre carti, si la fel este si

Newsletter-ul nostru.

Aboneaza-te la vestile literare si primesti un cupon de -10% pentru viitoarea ta comanda!

*Reducerea aplicata prin cupon nu se cumuleaza, ci se aplica reducerea cea mai mare.

Ma abonez image one
Ma abonez image one